List of Authorised Entities in Australia

Below is a list of organisations and their representatives in the print disability and educational sector that, under the Marrakesh Treaty, would be considered “authorised entities” . An “authorised entity” means “an entity authorized or recognized by the government to provide education, instructional training, adaptive reading, or information access to beneficiary persons on a non-profit basis.” The aim of this list is to provide publishers with a list of trusted organisations that, under the law, are qualified to ask publishers for book files if no accessible format version is commercially available. (From the WIPO list of entities)

 

Braille & Large Print Services, NSW Department of Education

Lara Danks

Lara.Danks@det.nsw.edu.au

Margarita Avagyan

Margarita.Avagyan@det.nsw.edu.au

Braille House

Braille House is a national organisation that produces and provides braille through our extensive lending library of braille and ebraille books.

  • A lending library of Braille and Moon books and magazines
  • Tuition in Braille and Moon
  • Production of tactual materials, such as: texts for use in schools, additions to our library, legal documents, recipes, financial reports and statements, birthday and special event cards, business cards, meeting notes and even text books.

07 3848 5257  |  coordinator@qbwa.org.au  |  www.braillehouse.org.au

Christian Services for the Blind and Hearing Impaired

Lee Dunstan

LeeDunstan@adventistmedia.org.au

Department of Education New South Wales

Lara Danks

Lara.Danks@det.nsw.edu.au

Department of Education Queensland
Statewide Vision Services Alternative Format Library

Angelique Cahill and Kaye Gole

alternative_format_library@narbethongspecs.eq.edu.au

Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children

Sonali Marathe

sonali.marathe@ridbc.org.au

Tarna Cosgrove

tarna.cosgrove@ridbc.org.au

Royal Society for the Blind of South Australia Inc.

Tony Starkey

Tony.starkey@rsb.org.au

School of Special Educational Needs: Sensory

Shirley Henderson
Shirley.henderson@education.wa.edu.au

South Australian School for Vision Impaired

Lauren Fountain

Lauren.Fountain973@schools.sa.edu.au

Statewide Vision Resource Centre 

Debra Lewis

lewis.debra.d@edumail.vic.edu.au

Marion Blazé

svrc@svrc.vic.edu.au

VisAbility

Dinesh Burah

Dinesh.Burah@visability.com.au

 

Other resources that might be useful:

Accessibility for teams from the ABC

Share this article